Death Is Pain

After listening to the podcast Serial, narrated by Sarah Koeling. I can honestly say that podcasts are a very compelling way to experience media and they offer a depth to the story that would not have been captured by just reading the book. Serial was the first full podcast I’ve listened to and surprisingly I enjoyed it. The podcast is about a girl named Hae Min Lee, a popular high-school senior, disappears after school one day. Six weeks later detectives arrest her classmate and ex- boyfriend, Adnan Syed, for her murder. He says he’s innocent though he can’t exactly remember what he was doing on that January afternoon. But someone can. A classmate at Woodlawn High School says she knows where Adnan was. The trouble is, she’s nowhere to be found.  

Before listening to the podcast I knew I was going to enjoy it more than sitting in a chair reading it because I am both a aural and verbal learner. The narrator did an outstanding job at keeping me engaged throughout the entire podcast by adding phone calls and even the little things such as different characters I found that it felt very realistic mentally. I also found it very helpful that my hands were free to write notes while listening, which helped me concentrate and finish the task with less of a struggle and would be a huge hassle if I were to be reading a novel.

I believe that presenting investigative Journalism is very helpful in this way especially for busy individuals because they would be able to listen to a book or other forms of media whenever they have time, during their drive to work or school. As mentioned before have the ability to tell the story in a more effective way and with the multiple cast members it’s more amusing to hear different voices instead of one individual for an hour or two.

couple pic

Something I thought about is that the victim’s family would not be supportive towards the idea of their child’s murder being covered in a podcast in the form of investigative journalism because they’re constantly being reminded of the tragedy. The popularity of the podcast would mean the discussion of their child’s death would never end. Also there is a high chance of random strangers making outrageous comments towards the victims family.

Overall, I absolutely enjoyed listening the first episode of Serial and I am very excited for the rest of the series.

 

Works Cited

Koenig, Sarah. “Serial: The Alibi.” Thames Valley DSB. N.p., n.d. Web. 25 May 2017.

 

Leave a Reply

